Chapter Elections Are Under Way

The election for the 2021-22 program year officers will be held from April 5-23, 2021. A link to the ballot was sent via email to all STC Chicago Chapter members on April 5. If you are an STC Chicago chapter and did not receive a ballot, please contact to receive a ballot.

The STC Chicago program year runs from July 1 through June 30 each year. On July 1, 2021, Rita Hovorka, our current chapter president, will automatically move to the status of immediate past president. Our current vice president, Pete Wagner, will move to the position of president, with the validation of membership vote.

Running for vice president is Ben Durham:

Ben is a former educator who switched careers to become a technical writer when he and his wife found out they were soon-to-be parents. During this time, Ben freelanced and worked on his CPTC certification, which allowed him to spend more time at home with his wife and newborn. He is currently the senior technical writer for HP Tuners, an automotive software company based in Buffalo Grove.

After joining STC, Ben eagerly sought involvement with the program’s numerous SIGs. He is currently the Treasurer for the Policies and Procedures SIG, and he is the newsletter writer for the Academic SIG. Ben now has his sights set on STC’s Chicago Chapter, where he hopes to serve as the new Vice President. Administrative roles are familiar to Ben. In the past, he has served as a board member for the Independent Writers of Chicago, and he has several years of experience in leadership positions for various professional organizations.

Running for Secretary is Dan Dornbrook:

Dan has been a technical writer in the Chicago area since 1994 and an STC member since 1993, when he was studying technical communication at Milwaukee School of Engineering. He currently writes software documentation for the Midwest office of JMA Wireless, a telecommunications company based in upstate New York.

Dan has served as chapter secretary since 2017 and has managed the chapter’s Social Media Committee since 2018. He served as chapter president in 2009-2010, vice president in 2008-2009, treasurer in 2006-2008, Program Committee manager in 2004-2006, and Byline editor in 2001-2002 and 1995-96.

Dan received a Robert G. Frank Award from the chapter in 2011, a Distinguished Chapter Service Award from STC in 2005, and a President’s Award from the chapter in 2005. When asked why he would like to continue serving as secretary, Dan said, “As a technical writer, I have learned the importance of record-keeping to any organization, and I am glad I can apply that set of skills in service to our profession.”

Running for Treasurer is Francis Bao:

Francis is a long-term member of STC Chicago with a long history of volunteering. He served as Chapter treasurer for three years, from 2003-2006. He served as VP/president/IPP from 2007-2010. Francis has also served as Education/Workshop Committee manager for two years and Nominating Committee for two years. In addition, Francis has been the Advertising/Sponsorship Committee manager since 2010. He has received the President’s award, Distinguished Chapter Service award, Volunteer of the Year award, and the Robert G. Frank award throughout the years. He is also an Associate Fellow of STC.

While he has been a part of the Administrative Council in one way or another for the past 17 years, Francis is anxious to once again be running for an officer position and is looking forward to serving the Chapter in the capacity of treasurer. Francis said, ”I am very proud to be the part of leadership team again to keep the Chicago Chapter moving forward.”


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment


Our bi-monthly newsletter, Byline, contains chapter events, messages from our officers, and exciting announcements!

Read our latest issues >>

Thank you to our sponsors!

LavaConFriends of STC Chicago Sponsor

Ken Cook Co.Awards Bronze Sponsor

Join Our Mailing List

News! Networking! Contests! Get the STC Chicago newsletter (and the occasional hot announcement)!

Subscribe to STC Chicago

Find Us Online

blog logo twitter logo facebook logo
linkedin logo rss logo flickr logo


2021 Platinum Community Award 2021 Pacesetter Award 2021 APEX Award