STC Chicago Honors Exceptional Volunteers

STC Chicago Honors Exceptional Volunteers

For the past 47 years, STC Chicago has held a banquet to honor our exceptional volunteers as well as the winners of the STC Chicago Technical Communication Competition—that’s longer than many of the STC Communities have been in existence! On March 21, we were very excited and proud to honor some very special people. We are very proud to announce the winners of the chapter awards:

President’s Award: The STC Chicago President’s Award was established in 1993 to recognize significant volunteer contributions of chapter members. This year is an exception. By unanimous vote of the AC, we decided to honor someone outside of the chapter.

Tim Esposito is the IPP of the Philly Metro Chapter and had no obligation to help us with our website. Despite that, he spent so much of his personal time to help us get our website up and running properly again after the migration last year that we felt he deserved some special recognition!

Timothy Esposito
“In appreciation of your exceptional effort and many hours of work helping fix our Website post-migration issues. We now consider you an honorary member of STC Chicago.”

Volunteer of the Year Award: Initiated in 2010, this award was established to acknowledge ongoing dedication to the chapter through volunteer efforts and commitment to the technical communication profession.

Linda Kelley stepped up this year by taking on the role of Webmaster. Our website is the “face” of our Chapter and she has done a great job of keeping it up-to-date, clean, and relevant. She also has been the host of our well-loved Trivia Night.

Linda Kelley
“For your sustained contributions to the Chicago chapter, your efforts as Webmaster, and for being an awesome host for our annual Trivia Night.”

Above and Beyond Award: STC Chicago established the Above and Beyond Award in 2012 to recognize an individual that accepts the responsibilities for a unique and challenging chapter event or experience. In the role, the individual contributes an extraordinary effort and substantial personal time to ensure the successful completion of the experience.

Stacey Lohman and Heidi Hanson were asked to set up our annual membership drive. They went above and beyond and created an amazing four-month marketing campaign. It was creative, thoughtful, and effective.

Stacey Lohman
Heidi Hanson
“For your service to the chapter by designing and executing an extremely creative marketing plan for the 2019 Membership Drive.”

Distinguished Chapter Service Award (DCSA): The Society initiated the Distinguished Chapter Service Award (DCSA) program in 1988 to acknowledge the work of those chapter members who repeatedly and consistently provide exemplary service to the Society through chapter activities. This is a society level award given at the chapter level. It is not awarded every year.

Pete Wagner has been our chapter treasurer for the past three years and has done an exemplary job. He was co-host of one of the Thursdays@Chicago networking lunches for many years. He steps up where and when needed without question. He is a true and solid supporter of our chapter.

Pete Wagner
“For your dedication to STC Chicago and your exemplary efforts as Treasurer for the past three years.”

Robert G. Frank Award: A recipient is usually a member of STC Chicago for ten years or more and served in an active role for all or most of these years. Robert Frank was a dedicated leader of the chapter who worked beyond reasonable expectations to make it successful. Much of his professional life was spent in support of the long term success of STC Chicago. The Robert G. Frank Award is intended to honor Robert Frank by recognizing STC members who characterize the dedication he displayed.

Elizabeth Burke has been an active member in STC Chicago for many years and has had many roles on the AC, including two terms as president. She joined STC in 2006. During the past 12 years, she has almost always been in a leadership role for the chapter.

  • President (2 terms, including our Summit year here in Chicago)
  • VP (2 terms)
  • Secretary
  • Program Manager
  • Internship Committee Manager
  • Competition Committee Manager (multiple terms)
  • Competition Judge and Senior Review Panel (10 years)
  • Scholarship Manager (multiple terms)

She has received the DCSA, Chapter Star, and President’s Award. She has also earned many competition awards (39 in total since the mid-90s).

She was responsible for bringing CARA into STC Chicago, not only as a member but as a strong sponsor and regular supporter. She has worked with them multiple times to plan and coordinate various workshops. She also developed the plans and implemented our inaugural high school–level scholarship program last year.

Elizabeth L. Burke
For dedicated service to the Chicago chapter and distinguished leadership in STC.”

Please visit our People page to see the full historical list for each of the chapter awards.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment


Our bi-monthly newsletter, Byline, contains chapter events, messages from our officers, and exciting announcements!

Read our latest issues >>

Thank you to our sponsors!

LavaConFriends of STC Chicago Sponsor

Ken Cook Co.Awards Bronze Sponsor

Join Our Mailing List

News! Networking! Contests! Get the STC Chicago newsletter (and the occasional hot announcement)!

Subscribe to STC Chicago

Find Us Online

blog logo twitter logo facebook logo
linkedin logo rss logo flickr logo